radio 1 jingle package 1987

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    wiggers

ive been collecting radio 1 jingles for many years, and i have downloaded some fantastic jingles of this very fine website, the reason im writing this, is because im after the radio 1 travel/weather jingles in full from the 1987 package, i have the 87 package but these jingles are not on the 87 cd, also im after the dj named jingles from the same package can anyone help regards wiggers

ratnob

I’m after 2 VERY obscure bits – the synthesizer track used behind the headlines on Newsbeat (if it helps, it went “nah nah nah nah naah nah nah nah nah nah nah”. Does that help?). Also the 6 second synth track that Tony blackburn played behind the 2 o’clock pips on his afternoon show.

How sad is that?

Geoff Barton

DJ

Geoff ,

The Orignal Radio 1 Newsbeat theme was NOT a jingle but a sample
          (the 1st 2 seconds) of Track 1 of an LP called “the in sound from way out”
          by a french guy called s perry RCA RECCORDS

Sorry to say this has been long deleted and I did see it about 6 months ago in a 2nd hand shop for about £65 so very hard to get hold of

Martin

ratnob

Oh, right – thanks Martin. I’ll give that a miss then. I’d half wondered whether it was produced by the BBC Radiophonic Workshop who used to do quite a few theme tunes etc for the BBC then. Thanks for clarifying.

TJ

The album is Jean-Jacques Perrey & Gershon Kingsley’s “The In Sound From Way Out”, which is available as half of “The Essential Perrey & Kingsley” CD in the UK from Ace Records – http://www.acerecords.co.uk – or catalogue number VCD71 if you want your local record store to order it. There are plenty of tracks on there which Kenny Everett used to use for bits and pieces too

DJ

The other CD worth getting is Moog Indigo a lot of the tracks was used
                by kenny everitt and I have found it on sale at amazon